Home      Deutsch
11.01.2017 21:31 Age: 70 days


Festive Days of Early Music

On 27 February 2017 Klangforum Wien will perform the Adagio from Ernst Krenek’s Symphonic Music for nine solo instruments, op. 11 and Pentagram, op. 163, in the Wien Museum within the framework of the Festliche Tage Alter Musik (Festive Days of Early Music).

Together with Forum Voix Étouffées, Klangforum dedicates this concert “to those composers whose works were suppressed by the various totalitarianisms of the twentieth century. On the program of this concert are works by composers who contributed substantially to the formation of our concept of modernism,” as Sven Hartberger stated in the foreword to the program booklet.

Krenek, who had to flee to American exile in 1938 and was never again able to follow up on his successes in Europe, wrote the Symphonic Music in 1922 in Berlin. In 1920 he followed his teacher Franz Schreker to the German capital, but was soon also in close contact with Ferruccio Busoni, Eduard Erdmann, Hermann Scherchen, and others. As Krenek later recalled in his memoirs, the “second movement of my Symphonic Music for nine instruments (opus 11)” is “an extended Adagio with a long, fugue-like introduction for strings and various passages derived from it, whereby the Coda devolves into a rondo-like paraphrase of the thematic material from the first movement. In both movements, considerable attempts were undertaken to break with traditional structural schemes, and later performances of the composition seem to prove that these attempts were successful. Throughout the whole piece, I remained faithful to the complex contrapuntal style that I had employed in my First String Quartet, and that seems to be a characteristic feature of my entire musical production.” Pentagram emerged from the never published Quintet op. 130, composed for the Cologne Woodwind Quintet in 1952, whose first three movements Krenek expanded and thoroughly revised. Only the fourth movement has survived from the original version.
Festliche Tage Alter Musik III – “Voix Étouffées”
27 January 2017, 8.00 p.m.
Wien Museum (Karlsplatz)
Klangforum Wien

Tickets: 24.00 €
We recommend the Festival Pass: all five concerts for 69.00 € / 34.50 € reduced

You can download the comprehensive program book of the Festive Days of Early Music here.